Utah Non-Resident Firearm Permit
Many concealed carry permit holders of their own state choose to also get a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) as a non-resident because of Utah's reciprocity with so many other states, currently 34. You should know, however, that 4 of those states which have reciprocity with Utah only recognize Resident CFPs from Utah, not non-resident. These states are currently Colorado, Michigan, New Hampshire and Florida. Go here to view the Utah Permit Reciprocity Map for non-residents.
Utah Concealed Firearm Law Regarding Non-Residents
There has also been changes in the Utah Law about getting your non-resident Utah CCW. Before the law changes you did not have to have a CCW from your own home state, but now you are required to first have a CCW from the state you reside in before you can apply for a non-resident Utah Concealed Carry Permit. On May 11, 2011 Utah State Bill 36 amended 53-5-704 Concealed Firearm Act Subsection (4) to read as this:
(4) (a) In addition to meeting the other qualifications for the issuance of
a concealed firearm permit under this section, a nonresident applicant
who resides in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah permit or has
reciprocity with Utah's concealed firearm permit law shall:
(i) hold a current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit issued by the appropriate permitting authority of the nonresident applicant's state of residency; and
(ii) submit a photocopy or electronic copy of the nonresident applicant's current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit referred to in Subsection (4)(a)(i).
(b) A nonresident applicant who knowingly and willfully provides false information to the bureau under Subsection (4)(a) is prohibited from holding a Utah concealed firearm permit for a period of 10 years.
(c) Subsection (4)(a) applies to all applications for the issuance of a concealed firearm permit that are received by the bureau after May 10, 2011.
(d) Beginning January 1, 2012, Subsection (4)(a) also applies to an application for renewal of a concealed firearm permit by a nonresident.
So in plain English:
- You need a concealed weapon permit (CCW) - or whatever your state calls a concealed permit - from your state first before you can apply and receive a Utah CFP. So for example, if you are from Texas you will need your Texas CCW before you apply for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit.
- You will need to submit a photocopy of your CCW from your state with the Utah application. Your Concealed Firearm Instructor may also request to see it before stamping your application after attending the class.
- If your state does not have reciprocity or does not recognize Utah's CFP, then you cannot get a Utah permit. Check the reciprocity map to see if your state does or does not.
- It costs $5 more for a non-resident application which is currently $51
- Renewals - for those of you who previously had a Non-Resident CFP before the law was enacted and did not have a permit from your own state, as of January 1, 2012 all non-resident renewal applications are now required to have your CCW from your home state first before renewing your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit.
- As Subsection 4(b) says - don't try to get around this law or lie on your application because when discovered you will have to wait 10 years before you get another chance to hold a Utah CFP.
Regardless of the new changes in Utah's Concealed Carry Law, getting a non-resident Utah permit is appealing because of the low-cost application fee: $51, no live-fire training is required which makes the Concealed Carry Class cheaper than most (as low as $25 for some) and the class itself is only required to be 4 hours long.
Example of Non-Resident Getting a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
Here is someone who does not live in Utah, but lives in a state that recognizes the Utah CCW and chose to get a permit from Utah because Utah's permit recognizes and has reciprocity with other states that his home state does not.